Candidate List for State and Local Offices

Published 9:03 am Wednesday, February 16, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Familiar faces have filed as candidates for the state legislature.

The deadline to file was Jan. 26 for the May 17 primary election. The General Election is set for Nov. 8.

District 22 State senate candidates are Andrew Cooperrider of Lexington and Donald Douglas of Nicholasville, both Republicans, and Democrat Chuck Eddy of Lexington, according to the state Secretary of State’s office.

Email newsletter signup

District 39 State representative candidates are Republican Matt Lockett of Nicholasville and Democrat Gwendolyn E. Mitchell, both of Nicholasville, according to the state Secretary of State’s office.

Since we’re publishing the state candidates for legislature, local city races deserve a quick look too.

For those folks keeping score at home, Wilmore’s municipal office candidate filing period has begun and ends June 7. Jessamine County Clerk’s office said to date, as of Tuesday afternoon, no one has as yet filed for mayor, council.

Recap — 12 candidates have filed to run for Nicholasville City Commission, according to Jessamine County Clerk Johnny Collier.

Those running for Nicholasville City Commissioners include incumbents Betty Black, Bethany Brown, Patty Grose Teater and current mayor Pete Sutherland. Joining them on the ballot in the primary are Ernie Lafferty, Clint Sullivan, Michael “Mikey” Garrett, Johnny Templin and Charles “Dexter” Knight.

Current Nicholasville City Commissioner Alex Carter is running unopposed for mayor.

In the Jessamine County sheriff’s race, Kevin Grimes, sergeant with the Nicholasville Police Department, is running against current sheriff Kevin Corman.

Michael Hughes and Amy Dove are running for coroner.

The magistrate 6th district race has three candidates — Gary Morgan, Burt Ladd and Daron Dag Willis.

Paul Floyd and Adam Teeter are running for 5th District.

April Rose Prather and Kent Slusher are running for magistrate 4th district.

Darrell York and Terry Meckstroth are running for magistrate 3rd district.

Tim Vaughan and Ben Riffell are running for magistrate 2nd district.

Justin Ray is running for magistrate 1st district.

Incumbent Collier is seeking another term as Jessamine County clerk. He is running unopposed.

Other unopposed races include Brian Goettl, Jessamine County attorney; Justin Ray, magistrate 1st district; Jon Sallee, jailer; Brad Freeman, property valuation administrator; David West, judge executive; William Hogue, constable 2nd district; Charles “Tony” Lowery, constable 3rd district; Michael Brumfield, constable 4th district; Bobby Sams, constable 5th district; and Nick “Lucky” Baldwin, constable 6th district.

News correspondent Nicole Bowman-Layton wrote this story for the Jessamine Journal.