Jessamine students honored with Youth Salute

Published 2:15 pm Tuesday, December 15, 2020

Jessamine County students were among more than 800 outstanding leaders recognized recently by Central Kentucky Youth Salute.

The Central Kentucky Council on Youth Leadership was formed in 1980 to conduct the Youth Salute in nearby counties in cooperation with the National Council on Youth Leadership, a non-profit organization.

Students were nominated by teachers, guidance counselors and principals for this year’s Youth Salute. To qualify, the student had to be a junior (senior class of 2021), have a 3.0 GPA or better and have held at least two leadership roles to which they were chosen by their peers or an adult leader within the past two years in school, religious or community sponsored organizations.

Email newsletter signup

The Journal will publish photos and short bios of those recognized as space permits for several weeks until all those recognized have been published.

The following students are all from East Jessamine High School.


Abigail Burczyk

Abigail Burczyk is a member of Traci Stone’s Dance Performing Arts Company, a Student Council junior class representative, a member of the Explore Club, the National Honor Society and Beta Club. She is also a member of Youth Leadership of Jessamine County and the DanceBlue Jessamine County Committee.

She plans to major in political science and international relations.


Alanna Creekmore

Alanna Creekmore is vibraphone section leader and a member of the marching band and concert band. She attended the National Academy of Future Physicians and is a member of the National Honor Society, National Beta Club and National Society of High School Scholars. She volunteers for Hope for Haiti and Jesus Prom.

She plans to major in biology and attend veterinary school.


Alyssa Howell

Alyssa Howell is marching band flute section leader and was a 2019 flute soloist. She is a member of FFA, Sources of Strength, Jessamine County Youth Leadership and the Southland Youth Group. She is parliamentarian for the National Arts Honor Society and first chair flute for the concert band.

She plans to major in biology or animal sciences and attend veterinary school.


Ashton Recktenwald

Ashton Recktenwald is a EJHS varsity cheerleader and yearbook editor. She is an All-Abilities Drama Camp counselor, Lex City Youth Group leader and a member of the National Society of High School Scholars and Beta Club. She volunteers for the Nicholasville food pantry, does mission work and is an Edge Camp counselor.

She plans to major in criminology and behavioral psychology to become a behavioral analyst.


Bailey Wilcox

Bailey Wilcox is a member of Jessamine County Youth Leadership, the East Jessamine Arts Program and the elementary mentoring program.


Emily Cuzick

Emily Cuzick is a member of the academic team, bowling team, National Honor Society, Beta Club and Youth Leadership. She helps with mentoring at Warner and is a junior deacon.

She plans to major in biomedical sciences to pursue a career in the medical field.


Gavin Carr

Gavin Carr is founder of Gavin’s Goodies. He is coach of the Jessamine County Sharks Special Olympics swim team, a 2019 Rogers Scholar and a member of the Beta Club and National Honor Society. He was a EJHS sophomore class senator and a HYPE mentor at an at-risk elementary school. He is a lifeguard for the Lexington-Fayette Urban County Government, a 2020 Andy Barr Youth Ambassador and a participant in the Jessamine County Youth Leadership Program.

He intends to attend college and then medical school.


Jonathan Alverson

Jonathan Alverson is a captain for the EJHS varsity soccer team and kicker for the school’s football team. He is a member of Jessamine County Youth Leadership, a student council representative, a VEX Worlds competitor and winner of the VEX state In the Zone competition. He is a member of the Beta Club and National Honor Society, a JYSA referee and vice president of the Technology Student Association.

He plans to attend the University of Kentucky and pursue a medical degree.