Rainwater, West, Sutherland re-elected

Published 10:18 am Thursday, November 8, 2018

The unofficial election results are in, with 20,759 residents casting their vote in 38 precincts across Jessamine County.

Republicans took the majority of the vote in Tuesday nights election voters across the county making up 65.8 percent of the vote. Democrat voters made up 32.5 percent and Libertarians held 1.7 percent of the vote across the county.

Email newsletter signup

Harold Rainwater was uncontested, and therefore re-elcted as the Mayor of Wilmore.

“I want to thank the fine people of Wilmore for giving me the opportunity to serve once again as your mayor,” Rainwater said. “Your many years of trust and encouragement are appreciated. It is a very high honor to get to serve the community you grew up in and love.”

Peter Sutherland was re-elected as the Mayor of Nicholasville with 7,407 votes, thus taking the win over write-in candidate Jonny Templin who took home 566 votes.

Jessamine County Judge-Executive David West was re-elected for another term after receiving 13,316 votes over Mike Cassidy who took home 6,910 votes in Tuesday’s election.

“I am very humbled that the people put that trust in me,” West said. “It motivates you to want to do a better job. It motivates me to want to continue to take Jessamine County and leave it in a better place four years from now. When a community places trust in you, it is humbling and scary because you want to be able to live up to that trust that was placed in you. I pledge to work very diligently to prove that trust was well placed. I am motived and I am energized to continue work that we have to do and do a better job with some of the things we need to do better and make Jessamine County a great place.”

U.S Representative, state Senator and state representative seats were also decided in Tuesday nights election and also impact Jessamine County.

Brett Guthrie (R) was re-elected for U.S. Representative in the 2nd Congessional District with 66.72 percent of the vote against Hank Linderman (D), 31.07 percent, and Thomas Loecken (IND) who received 2.21 percent of the vote, according to the Kentucky State Board of Elections website.

Andy Barr (R) was re-elected as U.S Representative for the 6th congressional district taking home 51 percent of the vote against Amy McGrath (D), 46.78 percent; Frank Harris (LIB), .71 percent; Rikka L. Wallin (IND), .33 percent; and James Germalic (IND), .17 percent, according to the Kentucky State Board of Elections website. 

Tom Buford (R) was re-elected at state Senator for the 22nd Senatorial District with 66.01 percent of the vote against Carolyn Dupont (D), who took home 33.99 percent of the vote, according to the Kentucky State Board of Elections website.

Kim King (R) was re-elected as state representative for the 55th Representative District with 65.69 percent of the vote against Cathy Carter (D), who took home 34.31 percent of the vote Tuesday night, according to the Kentucky State Board of Elections website.