Bevin appoints four locals to various boards

Published 1:27 pm Thursday, August 3, 2017

Gov. Matt Bevin recently appointed four Nicholasville residents to serve on two different public university boards and the Kentucky Boards and Commissions.

Dr. Sandra Robbin Shuffett was appointed to the University of Kentucky Board of Trustees. Shuffett is a physician for Baptist Health and a part-time farmer. She is a former graduate program instructor and has been a frequent lecturer on the subject of breast cancer, mammography and radiology. She will represent agricultural interests.

Don Irvin Tharpe has been appointed to the Murray State University Board of Regents. Tharpe is a past president of the Pan American Health and Education Foundation and former executive director of the Association of School Business Officials International. He is a Distinguished Alumnus of MSU, where he earned multiple degrees in industrial education.

Email newsletter signup

Both appointees will serve for terms expiring June 30, 2023.

Bevin also appointed Dr. Jonah Mitchell and Gerria Berryman, both of Nicholasville, to Kentucky Boards and Commissions on Friday.

Mitchell is an adjunct professor at the University of Kentucky. He will represent the public at large and serve for a term expiring July 21, 2020.

Berryman is the owner of Emergency Medical Training Professionals. She will represent privately-owned for-profit postsecondary technical schools, and has been reappointed and will serve for a term expiring July 21, 2021.