Candidates file for May 17 primary election; Nine seeking spots on Nicholasville City Commission

Published 10:52 am Wednesday, February 9, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Nine candidates have filed to run for Nicholasville City Commission, according to Jessamine County Clerk Johnny Collier.

The deadline to file was Jan. 26 for the May 17 primary election. The General Election is set for Nov. 8.

Those running for Nicholasville City Commissioners include incumbents Betty Black, Bethany Brown, Patty Grose Teater and current mayor Pete Sutherland. Joining them on the ballot in the primary are Ernie Lafferty, Clint Sullivan, Michael “Mikey” Garrett, Johnny Templin and Charles “Dexter” Knight.

Email newsletter signup

Current Nicholasville City Commissioner Alex Carter is running unopposed for mayor.

In the Jessamine County sheriff’s race, Kevin Grimes, sergeant with the Nicholasville Police Department, is running against current sheriff Kevin Corman.

Michael Hughes and Amy Dove are running for coroner.

The magistrate 6th district race has three candidates — Gary Morgan, Burt Ladd and Daron Dag Willis. Darrell York and Terry Meckstroth are running for magistrate 3rd district. Tim Vaughan and Ben Riffell are running for magistrate 2nd district. April Rose Prather and Kent Slusher are running for magistrate 4th district. Candidates for 5th District Magistrate are Adam Teater and Paul Floyd.

Incumbent Collier is seeking another term as Jessamine County clerk. He is running unopposed.

Other unopposed races include Brian Goettl, Jessamine County attorney; Justin Ray, magistrate 1st district; Jon Sallee, jailer; Brad Freeman, property valuation administrator; David West, judge executive; William Hogue, constable 2nd district; Charles “Tony” Lowery, constable 3rd district; Michael Brumfield, constable 4th district; Bobby Sams, constable 5th district; and Nick “Lucky” Baldwin, constable 6th district.

News correspondent Nicole Bowman-Layton wrote this story for the Jessamine Journal.