Kentucky librarians awarded library science tuition scholarship for spring

Published 11:12 am Thursday, January 10, 2019

FRANKFORT – Kentucky Education and Workforce Development Cabinet’s Kentucky Department for Libraries and Archives (KDLA), in partnership with the Kentucky State Board of Certifications of Librarians, has awarded the Library Science Tuition Scholarship to 12 public library professionals for the spring 2019 semester with Heather Tackett being the recipient of the scholarship in Jessamine County.

Kentucky law requires public libraries be staffed by personnel certified by the Kentucky State Board for the Certification of Librarians. In an effort to ensure that public libraries are able to meet these requirements, KDLA offers the Library Science Tuition Scholarship to help ensure public library staff are able to meet certification requirements by completing college library science courses.

“We are pleased to award this scholarship to support continuing education for library staff,” KDLA Commissioner Terry Manuel said. “It’s essential for library staff to expand their skills and knowledge to keep up with developments in the field.”

Email newsletter signup

The Library Science Tuition Scholarship awards $500 per semester for students enrolled in a four-year program and $250 per semester for students enrolled in a two-year college. Scholarship funds are awarded for the spring and fall semesters and may be utilized for undergraduate or graduate courses.

To learn more about resources, programs and service, please visit the Kentucky Department for Library and Archives website.