Election results are in

Published 8:34 pm Tuesday, May 22, 2018

From staff reports

The primary election votes have been counted and the results are in for Jessamine County.

Jon R. Sallee was reelected as Jessamine County jailer with a total vote count of 3,041 in his race against Michael David, who received a final vote count of 619.

Email newsletter signup

Michael Hughes was reelected as Jessamine County coroner, with a final vote count of 1,816. His opponent Jay A. Webb received 1,277 votes, and Mike Riley received a total of 505 votes in the primary.

William Hogue won the vote for constable in district two, with 242 votes. His opponent, Michael J. Foster received 219 votes.

Terry Meckstroth won the vote for magistrate in district three with 507 votes. Todd Gooch received 396 votes, and Darrell Kevin York received 97 votes.

Charles Tony Lowery won for constable in district three, receiving 364 votes. His opponent, James D. Lewis, received 357 votes.

Kent Slusher won the Republican race against April Rose Prather for district four magistrate. Slusher received 385 votes, with Prather receiving 280 votes. Slusher will continue to the general election scheduled for the fall where he will face his Democratic opponent for district four magistrate George Dean, who won the democratic vote with a total of 488 votes against his opponent Wallace L. Clark who received 164 votes.

Lindsay Pope Walker won the vote for district five magistrate with 349 votes against her opponents Misty LeMay Hager who received 300 votes, and Mark A. Walters who received 181 votes.

Eight city commissioner candidates moved onto the general election in the fall where four will be chosen for city commissioner seats. Those with the highest votes moving onto the fall election are Doug Blackford, with 1,899 votes; Alex Carter, with 1,890 votes; Patty Grose Teater, with 1,861 votes; Betty Black, with 1,546 votes; Andy Williams, with 1,449 votes; Bethany Davis, with 1,373 votes; Ann Marie Nipp, with 1,085 votes; and Jeffery W. Moberly, with 972 votes. Their opponents received the following vote count: Michael “Mikey” Garrett,  801 votes; Chris Ardery, 386 votes; Daniel David, 368 votes; Ernie Hoskins, 261 votes.

For more election coverage pick up Thursday’s edition of The Jessamine Journal.